Houston High School Athletics


Daily Memphian postseason cross country awards: Runners from CBHS, Houston lead the pack


Daily Memphian | 2/25/2024

PHOTO CREDIT: The Daily Memphian files

Here are the Daily Memphian postseason cross country awards for the 2023 season, featuring our runners of the year, coaches of the year and all-metro teams.

The runners of the year will receive awards sponsored by Crown Trophy of Cordova honoring their achievements.

Honorees were selected based on regular-season and postseason performance, with added consideration given to the latter.

Boys runner of the year
Joe Edwards, CBHS, junior: Edwards had an outstanding campaign for the Brothers, turning in the top average time in the area (15:44) while also having the best overall time (15:38). He finished second to teammate Kaleb Smith at the region meet and had then had the best time of any local runner at state, placing 11th in the Division 2-AA meet in 15:51.52.

Girls runner of the year
Zoe Marsh, Houston, senior: Marsh capped her stellar high school career by winning the Region 8-AAA title; she covered the Shelby Farms course in 19:11 while also leading the Mustangs to the team title. At state, she placed 11th (18:46.20) while helping Houston finish fourth as a team.

Boys all-metro team
Elijah Andrews, East, senior; Wilson Boutwell, CBHS, senior; Thomas Dickinson, Houston, senior; Ty Durst, Collierville, junior; Joe Edwards, CBHS, junior; Landon Gragg, Germantown, sophomore; Andrew Graham, Collierville, senior; Reid Gulstrom, Collierville, senior; Jack Hagerman, Lausanne, junior; Daniel Hudnall, CBHS, freshman; Dylan Hunter, CBHS, sophomore.

Chaz Jones, CBHS, junior; Jarryn Lowe, White Station, senior; Andrew Moore, Bartlett, senior; Noah Mullenix, CBHS, freshman; Charlie Palmer, East, senior; Jacob Roper, Collierville, sophomore; Yianni Sinis, Tipton-Rosemark, sophomore; Kaleb Smith, CBHS, senior; Porter Spiceland, MUS, sophomore; Dante Torres, Bartlett, senior; Clark Wade, Arlington, sophomore.

Girls all-metro team
Caroline Anthony, Westminster, freshman; Molly Cate Anthony, Westminster, junior; Lindsey Barnes, Houston, junior; Emily Bey, Munford, junior; Addie Bogda, Collierville, junior; Cara Bruce, Munford, junior; Kaley Byrd, Bartlett, junior; Lydia English, Arlington, senior; Sadia English, Arlington, sophomore; Mary Francis Forbes, St. George’s, junior; Amber Gipson, Tipton-Rosemark, eighth grade; Samantha Hardison, ECS, sophomore; Martha Kate Jessop, Houston, sophomore; Ava Lang, Collierville, junior.

Zoe Marsh, Houston, senior; Maya McCloskey, Collierville, senior; Lauren Moerbe, Collierville, senior; Maddia Mullis, St. Benedict, sophomore; Scarlett Nash, Collierville, junior; Nora Newhouse, Houston, sophomore; Liana Nuckolls, University, sophomore; Emmi Roberts, White Station, freshman; Addie Sharp, Collierville, senior; Caroline Sherrod, Westminster, junior; Ava Stockdale, Houston, junior; Rachel Tankersley, Collierville, sophomore; Emma Thweatt, Houston, senior; Abby Watson, Arlington, sophomore; Maggie Webber, Collierville, junior; Melaya Weisner, Briarcrest, freshman.

Boys coach of the year
Nick Dwyer, CBHS: After dominating the region — the Brothers placed nine runners in the top 11 — Dwyer’s men placed third in a very fast Division 2-AA state meet. In the process, CBHS made history; they are the first team from Memphis to post a sub-16 minute average for the top five runners in the 5K era that began in 2006.

Girls coach of the year
Rachel Randall, Houston: Randall’s Mustangs had five of the top nine finishers in winning the Region 8-AAA meet at Shelby Farms. Houst... Click here to read full article